Dirt Race/JMMC Sprint #2 report and results

Text by Dean Corrodus

Photos by Donovan Montaque.

The second speed event of the 2012 season was held at the seaside Badda Badda Raceway in Richmond, Priory, St. Ann on Sunday, February 5, 2012. Although persistent rain over the last three days leading up to the event rendered a portion of the track unusable, some quick adjustments to the course were effected and the drivers entered in the national sprint championship took to the course in vengeance at just before 2 pm.

Overall winner.

Blistering the partly muddy track to post the incredible fastest  time of the day was the R & B Auto Parts sponsored Jordan Powell driving a Toyota Corolla FX, winning in the process the JA2 class for the second time this year in as many starts. Powell won the trifecta by posting the fastest time in the JA2 class, the fastest two wheel drive time of the day and the fastest overall time of the day for good measure. A close rivalry with childhood friend Daryl King driving the Thrifty Gas Honda Civic was to set the tone for the day, as both youngsters shared the front passenger seat when Daryl’s father, racing legend Raynor King, used to take them to prep school in years gone by in one of his many fast cars. Only a fraction of a second separated then again at this events, and both are definitely a cut above the current crop of drivers entered in the events. In third place was Maurice Whittingham in the Carz Rehab Toyota Corolla Levin.

King (left) and Powell share a handshake at the JMMC Sprint #2 after a close battle throughout the day.

Powell (left) and King negotiate the same corner at JMMC Sprint #2

Dean Corrodus crosses the line in his Maxxis Tyres/ATL Automotive Racing Honda Civic

In the JA3 class, JMMC Chairman and meet organizer Dean Corrodus again topped the division driving the Automotive Performance Centre Ltd/Maxxis Tyres/ATL Automotive Racing Honda Civic Type R ahead of gentleman racer Keith Saunders in his faithful Chevrolet Chevette. Ricardo Scott was third in class.

Thomas Hall, the sole entrant in the JA4 class, failed to finish a single run at the event due to a driveline component failure.

Peter Jaggon on his way to victory in the JN8 class.

The JN8 class was won by Peter Jaggon driving the IGL Gases Subaru Impreza WRX. He had a close battle with Dave Lee of Spot Valley Raceway fame, who was out in his Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIII for the first time this season, and he showed why he has won the rally team title for the past three years by putting down a technical drive to claim 2nd place in class.

Richard Chan of Team Challenger Racing driving his Excel Electronic Security Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IV got the better of Junior Barnes in the Bay Waata Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX in the top flight JA8 class.

Dave Lee on his way to winning the overall championship run.

In the 3 lap championship run for the top ten fastest cars, Dave Lee won with a time of  2.56.17, with Powell 2nd in 2.59.01 and Richard Chan just a whisker away in third in 2.59.69


Name Car 1st run 2nd run 3rd run Fastest time


1. Jordan Powell Toyota Corolla FX        2.18.61    2.11.79    1.59.88     1.59.88

2. Daryl King        Honda Civic                2.23.78     2.11.10    2.00.45     2.00.45

3. Maurice Whittingham Toyota Levin    2.36.72    2.20.17     2.08.14     2.08.14

4. Matthew Gore   Toyota Starlet          2.39.40    2.13.69     2.13.61     2.13.61

5. Tony Fu            Toyota Corolla GT     3.07.38    2.22.59     2.18.16     2.18.16

6. Kenji Lee           Toyota Starlet          DNS          DNS            DNS          DNS

7. Marvin PorteousToyota Starlet         DNS          DNS            DNS          DNS


1. Dean Corrodus     Honda Civic Type R 2.31.17   2.16.28   2.09.56     2.09.56

2. Keith Saunders     Chevrolet Chevette 4.56.86  2.28.07   2.19.78     2.19.78

3. Ricardo Scott        Toyota Corolla      DNS            4.03.25  2.43.15     2.43.15


1. Thomas Hall           Toyota Starlet      DNF           DNS           DNS         DNF


1. Peter Jaggon           Subaru Impreza WRX                  2.13.93    2.09.24   2.00.27  2.00.27

2. Dave Lee                 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIII   2.14.79   2.17.79   2.01.21   2.01.21


1. Richard Chan           Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IV     2.23.71    2.09.43   2.00.77   2.00.77

2. Junior Barnes          Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX      2.17.79    2.10.69   2.06.20   2.06.20

Fastest Overall

Jordan Powell       1.59.88

Fastest 2WD

Jordan Powell       1.59.88

Championship 3 lap run

1. Dave Lee            2.56.17

2. Jordan Powell     2.59.01

3. Richard Chan      2.59.69

4. Daryl King           3.01.45

5. Peter Jaggon      3.01.77

6. Matthew Gore     3.03.26

7. Dean Corrodus    3.08.43

8. Junior Barnes      3.09.92

9. Maurice Whittingham  3.10.41

10. Keith Saunders     3.18.34

For further information on this event and other events, visit our Facebook page at: http://www.facebook.com/events/202549919839715/, the club’s website at www.jamaicamotorsports.com or call Dean Corrodus @ 940-0000.

The next event on the motorsports calendar will be the Fosrich Lighting World/Automotive Performance Centre Ltd Wet ‘n Slide Dexterity #1 to be held at ATL Bogue City Centre on Saturday night, February 18, starting at 8 pm.

Written by jmmcsecretariat in: Results |

No Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Ferry Industrial Terrace
10 Argyle Road, Kingston 10
Tel-(876)934-1288 / 322-5314. E-Mail: JMC@KASNET.COM, jamotoringclub@gmail.com